New Jersey Residents: Your Urgent Action is Needed to Help Raise the Minimum Wage!
This is major!
The New Jersey legislature just passed a bill to raise the state's minimum wage and index it to keep pace with inflation. Now it's all up to Governor Christie. For this bill to become law, he just has to sign it.
So why are we worried? Governor Christie has threatened not to sign the bill.
That's why we need to turn the pressure up! Please take a second and call Governor Christie to let him know that hundreds of thousands of working New Jersey women need a raise.
Calling is easy. Dial 609-292-6000. When connected, please tell the Governor's office:
- "Please tell Governor Christie that I strongly urge him to give hardworking New Jerseyans a raise by signing the minimum wage bill, including the cost of living adjustment. Thank you."
If Governor Christie signs this bill, the minimum wage will increase to $8.50 per hour and will be tied to the rising cost of living. This would especially help women in New Jersey, who are the majority of workers earning the state minimum wage of just $7.25 an hour. Many of these women struggle to support families on just $14,500 for a year of full-time work — thousands of dollars below the poverty line for a mom with two kids.
We all know how expensive it is to live in New Jersey. The state's cost of living is one of the highest in the country, but the minimum wage is completely inadequate. Eighteen other states and the District of Columbia have minimum wages above the federal level of $7.25 per hour. Let's make New Jersey number 20!
Call Governor Christie today and tell him to sign the minimum wage bill!
Articles by Topic
Join the New Reproductive Health Campaign
Go to ThisIsPersonal.org to get the facts and tools you need to help protect women's reproductive health.